PDA

View Full Version : I just showed my history class 'Resolute'

HEAT Viper
05-18-2010, 12:49 PM
I'm a history teacher, and one of the classes I teach is Advanced Placement World History (WHAP for short), mostly to high school sophomores. In the final chapter of the textbook, which deals with Globalization, there's a section that uses Barbie as example of Western influence in other parts of the world, and how other parts of the world react to Barbie (the Middle East, Japan, etc.).

I devote an entire day to this topic--it's called Barbie Day (I've done this every year for the past 3 years)--and I show them content from the Barbie website, etc., and we discuss the impact of Barbie on the world and on our own culture.

And then . . .

I shift the focus over to G.I. Joe. I give them the history of the line and how it essentially was a "Barbie for boys." This year I showed the '63 Toy Fair film, the timeline on the Hasbro website, and really emphasized the significnace of the ARAH line and how it foreshadowed geo-political developments. I also showed them Scarlett's file card--compare that to Barbie . . ., the opening sequence to the '87 film and the trailer to the live-action film.

Needless to say, they weren't expecting any of this--every other day it's a really serious, heavy class that demands a lot out of them. And they loved it. I always get great discussion out of it and they look at toys in a whole new way (global corporations, enterainment, reflections of social and cultural expectations, how things change and stay the same, etc.).

Anyway, all of this happened a few weeks ago.