PDA

View Full Version : Tampered Packaging - Seen it?

number six
12-07-2008, 01:58 AM
Hey guys, long time reader but new to the forum!

While I've been collecting figures on and off for a few years, I haven't really spent as much time 'hunting' as I have over the last year trying to find these joes. In the last few months I've seen some interesting things.

First off, the stolen figure is pretty common..

http://www.villagebbs.com/gfiles/misc/joes/1107081137.jpg

For example, Spirit in Spirit form, or

http://www.villagebbs.com/gfiles/misc/joes/1114081541.jpg

The roadblock that somebody removed. That's all common. But check out something like this:

http://www.villagebbs.com/gfiles/misc/joes/1106081225.jpg

At first I was perplexed that it was some sort of weird factory error but on closer inspection it was obvious somebody bought this, took it home and razor bladed the package and replaced the Grenediers with these old figures. While they were at it they helped themselves to everything that wasn't nailed down and returned it.

Here's another one:

http://www.villagebbs.com/gfiles/misc/joes/1205081158.jpg

This one threw me for a loop at first. I had been looking for the new DVD packs forever so when I saw this I was at first fairly happy. Then I thought, 'wow, I don't recall any DVD set being this lame from the previews'. I checked to see which MASS device bit it came with and that's when i found out it was tampered (I only glanced at the front). Closer inspection made what's obvious apparent, somebody wanted the new figures but didn't want to spend the $19.98. Looks like they replaced Snake Eyes, CC and Major Bludd with the older versions and Quick Kick did a Quick Change into Wild Bill (now with karate kick action!) While they were at it they helped themselves to the Mass device bit and the power cube. What hosers!